Country to Which the Galapagos Belong

by Avery

What country are the Galapagos Islands part of and its location on the map?

Your Answer

The Galapagos Islands belong to the country of Ecuador in South America.

The Galapagos Islands location is Longitude 90°W; Latitude 0° 00'' right on the Equator.

It is a privileged site where endemic animals and vegetation have evolved over hundreds of years.

The Galapagos Archipelago is in the Pacific Ocean about 600 miles to the west of the country of Ecuador.

The Galapagos Islands have the most incredible living museum of evolutionary changes, and get to know a huge variety of exotic species (birds, land animals, plants) not seen anywhere else in the world.

The majority of Galapagos Animals are unique in the world and can only be seen in this group of beautiful Islands.

Animals here are unafraid of man and so different from any others around the world.

The Galapagos Islands consist of 61 Islands and islets, with 13 main Islands.

The total land area is 7,882 square kilometers within a marine reserve of 45,000 square kilometers.

The main 13 Islands are: Baltra, Espanola, Fernandina, Floreana, Genovesa, Isabela, Marchena, Pinta, Pinzon, San Cristobal, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe and Santiago.

Geologically these Islands are situated on one of the most active volcanic regions on Earth: the Nazca Plate.

Even though they are in the tropic, the Islands are fortunate, since, they are not in the path of big storms or phenomena like that.

More About Galapagos

Galapagos Location

Galapagos Map

Galapagos Geography

Economic Galapagos Trips

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Galapagos Islands FAQ.