Ecuador Provinces

Ecuador Provinces with a good description of each of them. The country is divided in four regions.


The Highlands have 11 provinces, the Coast has 6, the Amazon Rain Forest of Ecuador has 6 and the Insular region with 1 which is the Galapagos Islands.

Provinces from the Highlands


This province was created on June 25 1824. It encompasses an area of 7.700 square km. It has protected areas such as El Cajas National Park and the city of Cuenca.

It was declared an UNESCO World Heritage Site. More About Cuenca Ecuador


This province is located in central Ecuador, its Capital is Guaranda. It was founded by the Spanish in 1571.

Guaranda is the smallest provincial capital in the highlands. The Carnival festivities of the area have gained fame throughout Ecuador.


The province was formed on November 17 1880 with territories detached from the province of Azuay.

Cañar is located some 36 km north of Azogues its capital, is home to Ecuador's most important archaeological site Ingapirca. The province also has interesting indigenous markets and lakes.


This Ecuador province is located far north of the country on the border with Colombia.

The capital city is Tulcan. The province is home to some of the nations most impressive protected areas, such as El Angel Reserve. One of its major attractions is Gruta de la Paz.


The capital is Latacunga. The province contains the Cotopaxi Volcano which is the highest active volcano in the world, with a height of 19,388 feet (well known for climbing).

Its main attractions are the Cotopaxi National Park and the Indian Markets of Pujili, Saquisili Indian Market and Latacunga.


The Province of Chimborazo was created by on June 23 1824 as one of the three provinces forming the Department of Ecuador, back in the Gran Colombia era.

This is one of the most beautiful Ecuador provinces because is home to the Chimborazo Volcano

The capital is Riobamba. The province is also rich in history, traditions, handicrafts and natural beauty with many lakes and distinctive moorlands vegetation. More About Riobamba Ecuador


This province is only 2 hours away from the Capital of Ecuador on the Pan-American Highway.

Here you will find the small town of Otavalo with the biggest Indian Market in the world.


Loja is another beautiful Ecuador province located in the south of the country on border with Peru. The capital is Loja.

Loja has popular tourist attractions, the most well known being Vilcabamba Valley famous for the longevity of the locals, most of whom live to the age of 100.


The Pichincha province is named after the mountain close to the city.

The Andes mountains make the eastern part of the province a highly mountainous one, while the western part is quite coastal.

Quito city, Ecuador's capital is located in this province.


The capital is Ambato. The weather is temperate. This province is known for its towering peaks, its Carnival festivities and its fruit and flower production in Ambato City

Handmade leather goods are another one of its riches. The active Tungurahua Volcano is located in this province.


This is one of the newest Ecuador provinces. The province was created October 02 2007 by spliting from Pichincha province.

The province was a Pichincha canton before and named Santo Domingo de los Colorados due to the Colorado Indians that inhabit the place.

Vilcabamba Valley is the Best Location to Live or Retire in Ecuador. Click Here to See Beautiful New Homes for Sale

Ecuador Provinces From the Coast


The capital is Machala. It borders the Peruvian Tumbes Region on the west.

The El Oro Province is the southernmost of Ecuador's coastal provinces. It has been named that way because of its historically important gold production.

It is one of the worlds major banana exporters. More About Machala Ecuador


The Capital is Esmeraldas. The Green Province, as it is called, is located on the country's northwestern coast.

This Ecuador province is famous for its stunning beaches, mangroves, and flooded tropical forests. More About Esmeraldas Ecuador


Its capital is Guayaquil, the largest city in Ecuador. The province is home to Ecuador's largest city and its main port. More About Guayaquil Ecuador


The capital is Babahoyo. It is flanked by two rivers, the San Pablo and the Caracol.

Every year on October 12th, the region's farmers hold a traditional rodeo. This is typically coastal farmers' festivity and celebrated in various villages throughout Los Rios and Guayas. More About Babahoyo Ecuador


The capital is Portoviejo. Manabi is known for its beautiful beaches, quaint fishing villages, commercial centers such as Manta City which is the country's second largest port, Bahia and Machalilla National Park.


The capital city is Santa Elena. This is also one of the newest Ecuador provinces in fact it is number 24 province. It was created by splitting from the Guayas province on November 7 2007.

It contains three cantons: La Libertad, Salinas and Santa Elena.

Ecuador Provinces From the Amazon Region


The capital of Sucumbios is Nueva Loja also known as Lago Agrio. Sucumbios is characterized by its humid, tropical climate.

In addition it's home to some of the Amazon's most impressive and expansive ecological reserves, such as Cuyabeno.


The capital is Francisco de Orellana. This Ecuador province, has only existed since 1999 and has four cantons. Orellana is rich in oil and wood reserves and has beautiful scenery and a wealth of flora and fauna.


The capital is Macas City The province is rich in natural beauty, with many rivers and a variety of trees species such as cedar, mahogany, canelon, and laurel.


The capital is Tena. This Ecuador province is characterized by equatorial rain forest.

The Amazon region accounts for nearly one-third of Ecuador's land area but only 4 percent of its total population.


The capital is Puyo. The province contains natural resources of bananas, grapefruits, tobacco, and tea. Today it is a must-see spot for tourists looking to get in touch with nature and live out an Amazon adventure.


The capital is Zamora. This Ecuador province is home to a variety of reserves such as Podocarpus National Park. The geography here is extremely varied due to the influence of the Eastern and Condor highland areas.

Ecuador Provinces From the Insular Region


For most, visiting the Galapagos turns out to be the highlight of their trip to Ecuador.

The wildlife of the Galapagos Islands is unique. The Islands have been called a "laboratory of Evolution" and are of immense importance to our understanding of the natural world. Read More About the Galapagos Islands

More About Ecuador

Santa Rosa Ecuador

Ecuador President

Retirement in Ecuador

Ecuador Visa Information

Economic Galapagos Trips

If you have questions about Ecuador Provinces, You can post them on our Ecuador FAQ Page and if you'd like to request more information about our exciting Ecuador Jungle Tours or from our recommended Galapagos Land Tours to explore these Islands, You can Contact us here

Back from Ecuador Provinces to Galapagos Islands Homepage

Go To Ecuador Main Informative Page