How Many Islands are in Galapagos?

by Tom

How many islands does the Galapagos have? Which are the most important ones?

Do the Galapagos Islands have a capital city? what's the name of it.

Your AnswerThe Galapagos Islands are composed by 13 major Islands and 6 smaller ones and more than 40 islets.

The major 13 Islands are: Baltra, Espanola, Fernandina, Floreana, Genovesa, Isabela, Marchena, Pinta, Pinzon, San Cristobal, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe and Santiago.

The capital city of Galapagos is Puerto Baquerizo Moreno located on San Cristobal Island.

The majority of our visitors do not know that the Islands have a permanent population. Many find surprising the Islands even have two national airports, plus another one on Isabela Island.

But, all visitors are somewhat shocked to find out that about 5,000 people live in this Island.

The most important visitor sites in San Cristobal Island include the Interpretation Center, El Junco Lagoon, La Loberia, Cerro Las Tijeretas, and of course, La Galapaguera, a place to understand the natural history of giant tortoises.

You will also experience that Sunsets at the harbor of Puerto Baquerizo Moreno can be quite rewarding, too.

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Galapagos Islands FAQ.